New album is unhinged in all the right places and powerful in all the best ways

Posted by Universal Music Publishing on 01 June 2015

For Florence Welch, the success of her first two Florence + The Machine albums 'Lungs' (2009 – Album of the year, Brit Awards 2010) and 'Ceremonials' (2011) meant five years of back-to-back recording, promoting and touring. The shows were getting bigger, the hair redder, the success wider and wilder. 

Jamie xx celebrates the dancefloor with 'In Colour'

Posted by Universal Music Publishing on 01 June 2015

Jamie xx has released his highly anticipated debut album ‘In Colour’ on Young Turks. The eleven track LP includes previous releases ‘Girl’ and ‘Sleep Sound’ as well as ‘Loud Places’, which features vocals from Romy Madley Croft.

Alesso Release Debut Album 'Forever'

Posted by Universal Music Publishing on 25 May 2015

Alesso has released his debut album ‘Forever’ on Def Jam Recordings.

The album features recently successful singles 'Heroes (We Could Be)' and 'Cool', as well as previous singles 'Under Control' with Calvin Harris and 'If I Loose Myself' with OneRepublic. Guest appearances on the album include Tove Lo, Ryan Tedder, Noonie Bao, Roy English and Sirena.

UMPG writers on the album include Alesso himself, Linus Wiklund, Simon Strömstedt and Benjamin Levin.

The Vaccines release ‘English Graffiti’

Posted by Universal Music Publishing on 25 May 2015

The Vaccines’ latest album, ‘English Graffiti’ sees the band tear up the plans and see what happens as they fall around them. Whilst elements of the old Vaccines’ sound remain – certainly in the pop rushes of ‘Handsome’, ‘20/20’ and ‘Radio Bikini’, an eclectic and adventurous musical mix that acknowledges Eighties pop has emerged.

Ivor Novello Awards 2015

Posted by Universal Music Publishing on 22 May 2015 Artists and songwriters signed to Universal Music Publishing won four Ivor Novello Awards yesterday. Annie Lennox was awarded the fellowship of the British Society of Songwriters, Composers and Authors (Basca) - the society's highest honour.

Jimmy Napes walked away with two awards for his co-writing part in the success of Clean Bandit’s ‘Rather Be’, which won Best Contemporary Song and Most Performed Song. David Holmes won Best Original Film Score for ’71.

Brandon Flowers releases ‘The Desired Effect’

Posted by Universal Music Publishing on 18 May 2015

Brandon Flowers releases his new album ‘The Desired Effect’ this week on Virgin EMI. It’s The Killers frontman’s second solo outing since 2010’s chart topping ‘Flamingo’ and has attracted rave reviews, with Rolling Stone calling it “the best straight-up pop album made by a rock star in recent memory.”

Paul Weller releases ‘Saturn’s Pattern’

Posted by Universal Music Publishing on 18 May 2015

Paul Weller never stops dropping landmark recordings, nor striking out for new turf. 

“What would I do if I stopped?” he asks rhetorically with a shrug, as if it’s the silliest thing he’s ever heard. “And why would I stop if making music is what I always wanted to do?” 

Instead he furthers his reputation as one of Britain’s very greatest living musicians by doing what he’s always done: heading back into the studio and making a new album.

Palma Violets release album ‘Danger In The Club’

Posted by Universal Music Publishing on 11 May 2015

The South London four-piece release their eagerly anticipated second album ‘Danger In The Club’ via Rough Trade.

Palma Violets have gone from putting on riotous DIY gigs in their London studio to traveling the world playing to enraptured sold-out crowds and festivals including Coachella and Glastonbury. Their debut ‘180’ had been lauded by press outlets including the New York Times, who called the album “raggedly charming,” and Rolling Stone, who praised its “garageland guitars… and psych-nuggets organ” and declared the album one of 2013’s best debuts.

Mumford & Sons release 'Wilder Mind'

Posted by Universal Music Publishing on 04 May 2015

Recorded at Air Studios, London and produced by James Ford (HAIM, Florence & The Machine), ‘Wilder Mind’ features twelve new tracks, written collaboratively by the band in London, Brooklyn, and Texas.

This new album marks a significant departure for the young British band from their previous records, 2009’s ‘Sigh No More’, and 2012’s ‘Babel’. The early sessions in New York and London witnessed a change in the band’s approach not just to writing and recording, but to texture and dynamics, too. There is a minimalist yet panoramic feel to the new album, whose sound Marcus Mumford describes as “a development, not a departure.” It came about by both accident, and by conscious decision.